Stopping a Ball Without Hands
If you read the Introduction, you are already familiar with this rule as well as Oz and Insane.
Oz is playing SS with Insane McNutly at bat. Insane drives a sharp ground ball just out of the reach of Oz. Instinctively, Oz throws his glove at the ball and stops it. He picks up the ball and fires it to 1B before Insane reaches the orange bag.
What’s the call: Safe or out?
Neither, Oz just gave Insane a triple.
Paraphrasing SSUSA PLAYING RULES 49 C, When a fielder intentionally contacts a fair batted or thrown ball with his detached glove, the runner would be entitled to three bases from the time of the pitch if a batted ball.
That’s it for now. Throw comments or suggestions to me at firstname.lastname@example.org.
January 11, 2024